Is graphite more dangerous than lead?

Graphite is just carbon, like coal or diamonds. In dust form, it can irritate lungs; long term it can cause lung disease, but it's not particularly toxic. It's the "lead" in pencils. Actual lead, however, is a very toxic, powerful poison. As it builds up in a body it damages brain & other functions.