What's the difference between a llama and alpaca?

Llamas have long banana-shaped ears while alpacas have straight ears and they are smaller.

---

At first glance, alpacas may resemble their larger camelid cousin the llama, but they are quite different. Their ears: Alpaca ears have short spear-shaped ears while llamas have much longer, banana-shaped ears. ... Their hair: The alpaca produces a much finer fiber than the llama.

---

Llamas have long banana-shaped ears while alpacas have straight ears and they are smaller. Their faces are also a bit different with llamas having a longer face, while an alpaca's face looks smushed.