When did they start making pennies?

1793. The U.S. Mint produced its first circulating coins, the copper cents in late February 1793, with over 11,000 copper cents delivered within a month. The first pennies struck at the U.S. Mint were made of pure copper and were much larger than the modern coins we are using today.