Why do egg yolks turn green?

The discoloration that sometimes forms around the yolk of hard-boiled eggs is the result of a similar reaction – this time between sulfur in the whites and iron in the yolks. It too, is harmless. It occurs when eggs have been cooked for too long or at too high a temperature.