How do you train a dog not to jump on you?

For example, here's how I trained shelties not to jump on people. First, on leash walks, train the dog to obey the command Down! Once the dog routinely obeys Down and lies down, every time it attempts to jump on you, step aside and firmly say Down! Use praise, toys, and treats to reward obedience.