How long does an average heart transplant last?

Transplanted organs don't last forever. After a heart transplant, the five-year survival rate for the organ is about 76 percent. However, a transplanted lung continues to work for five years or more in only about 52 percent of patients, according to the Scientific Registry of Transplant Recipients.