How loud is forty two decibels?

Depends on who is doing the hearing (human or animal) and if the frequency is propagated through air, water or solid. 42 dB is considered whisper level in speech.

---

42 decibels is about as loud as a library or bird calls. For comparison, a vacuum cleaner is about 70 decibels. It is important to remember that sounds scales logarithmically, so 40 decibels is only 1 8th the volume of 70 decibels.