Can bananas make you constipated?

Bananas are a conundrum when it comes to constipation foods to avoid. It's a matter of timing: Unripe bananas can cause constipation; ripe bananas can help relieve constipation. ... Bananas also contain dietary fiber (pectin), which draws water from the intestines toward the stool.