How fast is a sailboat?

Most sailboats cruise at a speed of 4-6 knots (4.5-7 mph), with a top speed of 7 knots (8 mph or 13 kmph). Larger racing yachts can easily reach speeds up to 15 knots (17 mph or 28 kmph), with an average cruising speed between 6-8 knots (7-9 mph).