What does toad the line mean?

Toed the line means that someone went along with what they were told 2 do, that they conformed 2 the party or company line, or that they followed the procedures exactly. 4 example, new Army recruits in boot camp learn 2 be on time, follow orders, and show respect. They learn 2 toe the Army line.