Are fireflies and lightning bugs the same thing?

yes. The Lampyridae are a family of insects in the beetle order Coleoptera with over 2,000 described species. They are soft-bodied beetles that are commonly called fireflies, glowworms or lightning bugs for their conspicuous use of bioluminescence during twilight to attract mates or prey.