How many people are in the band the weeknd?

Just one. Abel Makkonen Tesfaye (born February 16, 1990), known professionally as the Weeknd, is a Canadian singer, songwriter, actor, and record producer. He began his recording career in 2010, anonymously uploading several songs to YouTube. There is another band named weekend though.