What's a.m. stand for?

A M usually stands for one of two different things. In time keeping, A M is a Latin abbreviation for ante meridiem, meaning before mid day or from 12 midnight to 12 noon. A M can also stand for amplitude modulation and refers to a radio broadcast standard different from F M or frequency modulation.