Why does corn have hair on it?

Corn silk is the stamen of the female corn flower, elongated so that it sticks outside of the husk & allows the individual flowers to be fertilized even though they are still inside the husk. Once the silk is brushed with pollen, it carries it to the flower, which ripens into a fruit.

---

It does look like hair but it is actually called silk. Corn silk is part stigma and part style, providing a female flower surface to which pollen grain can stick.