Who played the original tanto?

Jay Silverheels (born Harold Jay Smith, May 26, 1912 – March 5, 1980) was a Mohawk actor and athlete. He was well known for his role as Tonto, the faithful Native American companion of the Lone Ranger in the long-running American western television series The Lone Ranger.