What's the difference between a whiskey and a bourbon?

Whiskey is more of a general term, while bourbon is a specific type of whiskey. What makes bourbon distinct from other whiskeys is that it is aged in newly charred oak barrels (other whiskeys can be aged in barrels that are reused), and bourbon mash must contain at least 51% corn.