What is kosher gelatin?

Kosher gelatin is derived from kosher slaughtered and processed bovine sources or from kosher species of fish. Gelatin derived from fish is permitted in yogurt or other dairy foods according to most opinions. Gelatin in kosher products is typically derived from kosher fish.