Was world war two in normandy?

Normandy Invasion, also called Operation Overlord or D-Day, during World War II, the Allied invasion of western Europe, was launched on June 6, 1944, with the simultaneous landing of U.S., British, and Canadian forces on five separate beachheads in Normandy, France.