How many fluid ounces can you take on a plane?

The 3 1 1 rule for flying states how liquids should be packed in carry on luggage. Liquids need to be in containers no larger than 3.4 ounces or 100 milliliters, the containers need to be placed in a one-quart zip lock bag, and each passenger is allowed only one bag.