Who was leo the ninth?

Leo IX, born Bruno, of Egisheim-Dagsburg, was the bishop of Rome and ruler of the Papal States from 2/12/1049 until his death 4/19/1054. As Pope, he took on the mission to reform the Church. He was taken prisoner during a Norman Invasion and when critically ill, returned to Rome to die.