What are the ingredients in chili sauce?

Chili sauce can be hot, sweet or somewhere between. The primary ingredients across all chili sauces are chili peppers and water. Vinegar, salt, sugar and spices are also common in various chili sauce recipes. American chili sauce is typically more tomato based.