Who destroyed the white house?

On Aug. 24, 1814, after defeating an American force at the Battle of Bladensburg, a British force led by Maj. Gen, Robert Ross, burned down buildings in Washington DC, including the White House, or as it was know then, the Presidential Mansion. This was part of the War of 1812.