How do you name a dog on minecraft?

You need to find a name tag, and bring it to an anvil. In the interface, place the name tag into one of the slots, then rename the tag what you'd like your pet's name to be. The new tag will be presented to the rightmost slot. Afterwards, take the name tag to your pet and right click.