Is type a noun or a verb?

Type can be used as a noun or a verb. As a noun: printed text or something distinguishable as a variety, particular kind, class, or group. As a verb: to produce a character, a document, etc. using a keyboard on a typewriter or computer or to identify a subject as belonging to a type: as in typecast