How do you grow scallions?

Scallion plants can be sown from seed by planting seeds about ¼ inch deep, ½ inch apart, and with 12- to 18-inches of space between rows. Scallions can also be grown from cuttings by taking 1 inch off the root ends and placing them in clean water and placing them where they will receive sunlight.