What was the freddie gray case in baltimore?

He was arrested in the Gilmor housing complex in West Baltimore the morning of April 12, 2015, and placed in the back of a police van with his hands cuffed behind his back and his legs shackled. As he was being transported, he suffered a severe neck injury. He died in a hospital about a week later.