Who owns shoprite grocery stores?

The Saker family has been operating grocery stores since 1916 when Richard Saker's great-grandfather opened a “mom and pop” store in Freehold, New Jersey. Richard's father Joseph joined Wakefern in 1947, a few months after it was established, and was an active member of the cooperative.