Where does the wishbone come from?

A wishbone is the forked chest bone of a bird. It's formed from the fusion of the two collarbones and is found at the base of the sternum, or between its neck and chest.

---

The wishbone, located between the turkey's neck and breast, is formed by the fusion of the bird's clavicles at the base of its sternum. It serves as a spring that holds and releases energy while the bird flaps its wings attempting to fly.