What's the difference between black and green tea?

Both green and black tea are made from the leaves of the Camellia sinensis plant ( 1 ). The key difference between the two is that black tea is oxidized and green tea is not. To make black tea, the leaves are first rolled and then exposed to air to trigger the oxidation process.