Do we have seven layers of skin?

The skin has up to seven layers of ectodermal tissue and guards the underlying muscles, bones, ligaments. Human skin is similar to most of the other mammals skin, and it is very similar to pig skin. Though nearly all human skin is covered with hair follicles, it can appear hairless.