How do electrolytes work?

Electrolytes are chemicals that form electrically charged particles (ions) in body fluids. These ions carry the electrical energy necessary for many functions, including muscle contractions and transmission of nerve impulses. Cramping is your body's way of letting you know that it's on empty.