Why do cats have two sets of islands?

They have an additional third eyelid, known as the nictitating membrane, which moves diagonally across the eye starting from its inner corner. Your cat's third eyelid functions as a shield for his cornea. If your cat's third eyelid is present in one or both eyes, take him to your veterinarian.