What was the third state in the union?

New Jersey was the third state admitted to the Union, on December 18, 1787.

---

The third state to enter the Union was New Jersey on December 18, 1787, preceded by Delaware on December 7, 1787, and Pennsylvania on December 12, 1787 and followed by Georgia on January 2, 1788, and Connecticut on January 9, 1788.