What is hypopnia?

Hypopnea is abnormally slow or shallowed breathing. This happens when there is a decrease of airflow for 10 seconds, a reduction in ventilation, and a decrease in oxygen saturation. Hypopnea occurs during sleep and can be hard to recognize.