What's the hanging thing in the back of your throat called?

The palatine uvula, or simply "uvula," hangs from the back of the palate. It helps to close the nasal passage when swallowing, contains saliva glands that lubricate the throat, initiates the gag reflex, and is used to make sounds in a few languages.