What's the hanging thing in the back of your throat called?

The palatine uvula, or simply "uvula," hangs from the back of the palate. It helps to close the nasal passage when swallowing, contains saliva glands that lubricate the throat, initiates the gag reflex, and is used to make sounds in a few languages.

---

Palatine uvula, or simply uvula, is a little tear-drop shaped tissue dangling at the back of the mouth. As part of soft palate, it helps block food & liquid from going up the nose when swallowing. It makes saliva helping lubricate the throat, triggers a gag reflex to prevent choking, & aids speech.