What is the opera faust about?

In the opera Faust, Doctor Faust is an aging scholar who is tired of life and fantasizes about ending it all. Suddenly, Mephistophélès, the Devil himself, appears before him. He makes a pact with Faust, guaranteeing him eternal youth in exchange for his soul.