Where does cork come from?

Cork comes from the phellem-layer of bark tissue of the cork oak tree. Owing to its impermeable, buoyant, elastic, and fire retardant properties, Cork is used in a variety of products. The montado areas of Portugal produce about half the world's cork harvested annually.