What is the prime meridian standard?

The prime meridian is the imaginary line that divides Earth into two equal parts: the Eastern Hemisphere and the Western Hemisphere. The prime meridian is also used as the basis for the world's time zones. Meridians are used to measure distance in degrees east or west from the prime meridian.