Is baking soda a fire retardant?

Baking soda can be a helpful agent for controlling some types of fire. In fact, it isn't uncommon to see forms of bicarbonate of soda in fire extinguishers. However, you need to be careful when using it and there is no guarantee that baking soda alone will completely extinguish a fire.