Why did the battle of rorke's drift happen?

In 1879, British forces of 150 men, engaged in the Battle (Defense) of Rorke’s Drift - a Swedish mission. With 150 men, the British consistently held off numerous attacks from 3000 to 4000 Zulu warriors. With numerous other decorations, 11 survivors were awarded Victoria Crosses for their heroism.