What's the difference between a house fly and a butterfly?

The difference between house flies & butterflies is that house flies have much shorter wings without the bright colors a butterfly does. They also have different mouths. The house fly is designed to suck up liquids from rotting material while a butterfly has a long tongue to suck nectar from flowers