How can you tell if a watermelon is good?

First pick your watermelon up. Look for a creamy yellow spot that tells you the watermelon is ripe. Give the watermelon a tap. If it sounds hollow this means your watermelon is ripe filled with juices. Avoid buying watermelons that are hard or dry.