What is spidersilk made of?

They are made of proteins and have several purposes: to help with locomotion, to serve as a trap or shelter for the eggs. The raw material is produced in liquid form by glands located in the spider's abdomen and, when it comes into contact with the air, it solidifies and takes the form of threads.