When did prohibition start in the united states?

The Eighteenth Amendment was ratified on January 16, 1919, and went into effect next year, on January 17, 1920, starting the Prohibition. The Prohibition ended in The United States on December 5, 1933, with the ratification of the Twenty-first Amendment, which repealed the Eighteenth Amendment.

---

The Eighteenth Amendment was ratified on January 16, 1919, and went into effect next year, on January 17, 1920, starting the Prohibition. The Prohibition ended in The United States on December 5, 1933, with the ratification of the Twenty-first Amendment, which repealed the Eighteenth Amendment.

---

The Eighteenth Amendment of the United States was ratified on January 16, 1919 and went into effect one year later on January 17, 1920, thus starting Prohibition. On December 5, 1933, ratification of the Twenty-first Amendment repealed the Eighteenth Amendment and ended Prohibition.