Why does it snow in the fall?

Cold temperatures in the atmosphere freeze water molecules which can then join together and fall to earth as snowflakes. In most parts of the northern hemisphere, it is not cold enough to make and sustain snow flakes until Fall, but in higher altitude areas snow in July is not uncommon.