What is the definition of eviscerated?

The literal meaning of eviscerated, spelled E-V-I-S-C-E-R-A-T-E-D, is disemboweled, or having violently removed the digestive organs. The word is more often used metaphorically, meaning to deprive something, usually a creative work, of its essential content.