What's known as the gray lady?

A 1951 LIFE article refered to the New York Times as "The Old Gray Lady". The New York Times is regarded by many in the world as the world's greatest. And newsmen generally hail it as "old" and "gray" by way of acknowledging its traditional special marks: starch conservatism and circumspection.