How long can a leaf live?

The length of time a leaf can live depends on the type of tree you're talking about. Deciduous trees like oaks and maples lose their leaves in the Fall and Winter, so their leaves only live a few months. However, evergreens like pines and spruce have leaves that last all year around and even longer.