Where does the phrase scott free come from?

The expression 'Scot-free' originates from the Scandanavian word, 'Skat,' meaning “tax” or “payment.” The word mutated into 'scot' as the name of redistributive taxation meant to provide relief to the poor during the 10th century. Someone who didn't have to pay the tax was called 'scot-free.'