How do you decaffeinated coffee?

Coffee is decaffeinated by roasting coffee beans until only about 1 percent of the caffeine content is left as only about 99 percent of caffeine can be taken out of coffee.

---

It is carried out while the beans are still ‘green’. The process involves: swelling the green coffee beans with water or steam, extracting the caffeine from the beans, done with water, a solvent or activated carbon, then drying the decaffeinated coffee beans back to their normal moisture level.